National Assembly

Legislature- A legislature is a state's internal decision-making organization, usually associated with national government that has the power to enact, amend, and repeal public policy. In the Gambia, the National assembly is the legislative branch of the Government. The National Assembly is headed by the Speaker. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker may only be chosen from among the presidential appointees to the National Assembly, not the elected members.

The Cabinet- The Cabinet of the Gambia is the chief executive body of the Republic of the Gambia. The Cabinet is made up of the President, the Vice President, and the Cabinet Ministers. Statehouse list of Cabinet ministers


Parliament-The National Assembly is the Gambia's national parliament. It is a unicameral parliament. Consisting of 53 members, 48 of which are directly elected for a term of 5 years, while the remaining 5 are appointed by the President. Members are often given the abbreviated title of NAM's (National Assembly Members).



Legislative representation based on universal adult suffrage in the Gambia began in May 1962, when elections were held for a 32-seat House of Representatives. These elections were won by the People's Progressive Party (PPP), which was led by Dawda Jawara. After independence in 1965, the PPP continued to dominate the House of Representatives by winning a series of free, democratic elections in 1966, 1972, 1977, 1982, 1987, and 1992. While opposition parties were continuously present in the House, they were never able to successfully wrest power from the PPP. Jawara's government was overthrown in a July 1994 military coup led by Yahya Jammeh..



Legislative elections to the renamed National Assembly took place on 2 January 1997. Jammeh's Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction (APRC) won 33 out of 45 seats, the opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) won 7, two went to both the National Reconciliation Party (NRP) and Independents, while the People's Democratic Organization for Independence and Socialism (PDOIS) captured the remaining seat.